January 24, 2022

Climate Change News

Saving The Planet

Professor Ray Bates joins the GWPF Academic Advisory Board

The Global Warming Policy Foundation is pleased to announce that Professor Ray Bates, one of Europe’s most eminent climate scientists, has joined the GWPF Academic Advisory Board.

Professor Ray Bates

Dr Bates is an Adjunct Professor of Meteorology in the Faculty of Mathematics and Statistics at University College Dublin. He was a professor of meteorology at the Niels Bohr Institute at the University of Copenhagen and a senior scientist at NASA’s Goddard Space Flight Center. In his first career he was head of research at the Irish Meteorological Service.

Ray earned a bachelor’s degree in physics from University College Dublin and a doctorate in meteorology from MIT. His doctoral supervisor at MIT was Jule G. Charney, chair of the committee he wrote in 1979 Charney reports on the effects of carbon dioxide on the climate.

Professor Bates has received several awards for his scientific work, including the Vilhelm Bjerknes Medal of the European Union of Geosciences (2009). He is a former president of the Irish Meteorological Society. He has served as an expert reviewer of the IPCC’s fifth and sixth evaluation reports.

He is a member of the Royal Irish Academy and the European Academy and a member of the American Meteorological Society and the Royal Meteorological Society.


The GWPF Academic Advisory Board is comprised of scientists, economists, and other experts who provide the GWPF with scientific, economic, and timely policy advice.

It reviews and evaluates new GWPF reports, explores future research projects, and makes recommendations on issues related to research and climate and energy policies.

The other members of the GWPF Academic Advisory Council are:

Professor Christopher Essex (President)
Sir Ian Byatt
Dr. John Constable
Professor Vincent Courtillot
Professor Peter Dobson OBE
Christian Gerondeau
Professor Laurence Gould
Professor William Happer
Professor Ole Humlum
Professor Gautam Kalghatgi
Professor Terence Kealey
William Kininmonth
Bryan Leyland
Professor Richard Lindzen
Professor Ross McKitrick
Professor Robert Mendelsohn
Professor Garth Paltridge
Professor Ian Plimer
Professor Gwythian Prins
Professor Paul Reiter
Professor Peter Ridd
Dr. Matt Ridley
Sir Alan Rudge
Professor Nir Shaviv
Professor Henrik Svensmark
Dr. David Whitehouse

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission.

Source link